Trail Junior Hockey

The Trail Junior Hockey Club was first formed in December 1928. In that same year, the Mowatt Cup, emblematic of Junior Hockey supremacy in BC, was first presented.

1928 Trail Junior Hockey ClubThe Trail Juniors won their first Mowatt Cup in 1932, defeating Merritt. The team won again in 1933, defeating Princeton and Vancouver, but lost to Calgary in the BC/Alberta Championship (Abbott Cup).

The Juniors won again in 1934, defeating Rossland and Vancouver, but lost to Edmonton for the Abbott Cup. From 1936 to 1940, the Trail Juniors won 5 Provincial Championships. However, the team couldn't win the Abbott Cup against Prairie teams.

In 1944, the team advanced to the BC/Alberta Championships and defeated the Saskatchewan (Regina) Commandos. They then defeated the Port Arthur Flyers in the Western Canada Final in a three-game sweep. For the first time, a team from British Columbia played for the Memorial Cup vs. the Oshawa Generals. However, the Generals were too strong and Trail lost four straight games.

The Trail Juniors were again BC Champs in 1947. For the next 13 years, the Juniors won 6 consecutive BC titles and 11 Provincial Championships. The last Provincial Championship was won by the Trail Junior "B" Smoke Eaters in 1991.

1932-33 Trail JuniorsIn 1992, the team was reorganized as a Junior "A" team and participated in the Rocky Mountain Junior Hockey League. In 1995, the team purchased the Bellingham, Washington franchise and joined the BC Junior Hockey League. The Trail Juniors continue to participate in this league with teams from throughout the Province.