Chuck Bradbury, around 1940Field lacrosse teams from Trail competed regionally before World War I halted the sport in this area.  In 1922 it was revived and that year the Trail Lacrosse Club, below, were Interior BC Champions.

Men's field lacrosse died out in the 1920's but was revived as amateur box lacrosse, an indoor version, in 1933. The Trail senior men's team were West Kootenay Champs in 1937, making it to the B.C. championships but losing to New Westminster in the finals. Trail again won the West Kootenay title in 1939.

During the 1940's and 50's lacrosse teams in this area included the Trail Golden Bears, Rossland Redmen and Spokane Dynamos.  They annually challenged the best teams from the Okanagan and the coast.

The Trail Lacrosse Team was renamed Trail Golden Bears in 1939 with Ab Cronie as coach.  They won the West Kootenay title in 1945.


(Pictured Left)
Trail Cubs, 1939 West Kootenay Junior Champions

Back row: Harry Dembecki, Nini Forte, Jim McKenzie, Angus MacDonald, Deacon Davies, Ralph Temple (coach) Middle row: Fred Pagnan, Alex Honeyman, Nick Turik, Sam Saprunoff (goal), Olando "Slouse" Sammartino, Doug Finnie, Alastair McKenzie.    Front: Mario Matteucci, Bill Brownlee, "Red" Ius, Les Murdoch.