The 1950's was a time of rebuilding, toward the great Smoke Eater teams of the 1960's (the 1959-60 team had ten homegrown players, who had been playing with and against each other since their Peewee hockey days).

1957-58 Trail Smoke EatersThe 1950-51 season saw the arrival of right-winger Bobby Kromm, who was to become the WIHL's top all-time points leader and coached the 1961 World Championship Team. Veterans such as Duke Scodellaro, Ab Cronie, Frank Turik, Terry Cavanaugh and Johnny Rypien were still with the club, but there was a new coach, Gerry Thompson and new players, Bobby Kromm, Mike Shabaga, Laurie Bursaw, Ray Hamilton and Bob Weist.

Trail won the Savage Cup in 1951-52, their last appearance in the provincial final for eight years.

Seth Martin joined the club in 1952, Cal Hockley in 1956. Adie Tambellini was WIHL Rookie of the Year in 1957. Two Smokies won the WIHL's Most Valuable Player Award in the 1950's: Ab Cronie (1950-51) and Moe Young (1953-54, 1954-55).